Broward News and Entertainment Today

Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for Driver’s Education Program at Nova High School

Nova High School will formally become Broward County Public Schools 14th high school to offer the driver’s education program to students with a ribbon cutting ceremony on Monday, March 15 at 9 a.m.  Nova High is located at

Prior to the 1998 school year, the Broward County Public Schools driver’s education program included both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel experience for students. In 1998, due to budget constraints, a phasing out of the behind-the-wheel component of the program began. Effectively, the driver’s education program’s vehicles were replaced with “virtual cars” in the form of computer-based driving simulators. By the year 2000, the driver’s education program had totally transitioned to a classroom/simulation-based program.

With the support of the Dori Slosberg Driver Education Safety Act, the District has been able to restructure its driver’s education program. The restructured program was piloted at Plantation High School during the summer of 2003. The program at Nova High School brings to total 14 high schools offering driver’s education.

Funding from the Dori Slosberg Driver Education Safety Act has helped schools in more than 60 counties in Florida bring driver’s education programs to students. Former state representative Irv Slosberg started the Dori Slosberg Foundation after his daughter Dori died in a car accident in 1996 from injuries because she was not wearing her seatbelt.

The driver’s education program is funded through moving violation traffic tickets issued in Florida. The money from the tickets gets siphoned down from the local clerk of courts to local schools. In 2002, the bill was passed that allocated $3 per ticket and it was raised to $5 in 2005. Thirty percent of that funding goes toward behind-the-wheel training.

Former representative Irv Slosberg is scheduled to attend the ribbon cutting ceremony with School Board members Jennifer Leonard Gottlieb, Chair and Member-at-Large; Ann Murray, District 1; and Robin Bartleman, Member-at-Large; along with District administrators and community guests. The public is invited attend.

Related posts:

  1. Five Broward high schools named best schools 2010
  2. Broward lost students for 2009-2010 school year
  3. Broward League Supports Education with Ambassador Program
  4. Broward high school graduation dates
  5. Broward School Board meeting today to talk budget

Short URL:

Posted by Andrea Freygang on Mar 8 2010. Filed under Broward County, Families, Fort Lauderdale, Local news, Schools. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Subscribe to for free!