Broward News and Entertainment Today

Board of Governors appoints 21 individuals as members of university boards of trustees

The Board of Governors today appointed 21 individuals to be members of the boards of trustees at the 11 institutions of the State University System of Florida.

“I welcome all of the new trustees to the State University System,” said Sheila M. McDevitt, chair of the Board of Governors. “These individuals have distinguished records of leadership and experience, and they will provide trusted guidance to their institutions.”

The 13-member Board of Trustees at each institution is responsible for cost-effective policy, implementing and maintaining high-quality education programs consistent with the university’s mission.

The new appointees will join their respective boards on January 6, to serve five-year terms.

Chancellor Frank T. Brogan said the Board of Governors carefully reviewed more than 200 applicants from throughout Florida in a thorough process leading to today’s appointments. “The State University System is honored to know that so many accomplished individuals want to contribute their time and energy to the greater success of our institutions and to our efforts to reshape Florida’s economy,” Brogan said.

Appointed today by the Board of Governors were:

University of Florida

■       Marshall M. Criser III of Coral Gables. Criser is president of ATT Florida.

■       Carolyn King Roberts of Ocala. Roberts is president of Roberts Real Estate Inc. and is a former chair of the Board of Governors. Her Board of Governors term expires in January.

Florida State University

■       Mark Hillis of Winter Park. Hillis is a retired executive with SunTrust Bank and a former member of Florida State University Foundation’s Board of Trustees.

■       Margaret A. Rolando of Coral Gables. Rolando is a partner with the law firm of Shutts & Bowen LLP in Miami. She is a member and former chair of the Board of Visitors of the Florida State University College of Law.

Florida A&M University

■       Marjorie Turnbull of Tallahassee. Turnbull is a consultant and is a former member of the Florida House of Representatives and a former chair of the Leon County Commission.

University of South Florida

■       Brian D. Lamb of Tampa. Lamb is an executive with Fifth Third Bank in Tampa and is a member of the Investment Committee of the University of South Florida Foundation.

■       Harold W. Mullis Jr. of Tampa. Mullis is president of the law firm of Trenam, Kemker, Scharf, Barkin, Frye, O’Neill & Mullis, P.A., and is a past chairman of the board of Tampa General Hospital.

Florida International University

■       Michael M. Adler of Miami Beach. Adler is chairman and CEO of Adler Group Inc., a real-estate development firm, and is chair of the Development Committee of the Florida International University Foundation.

■       Joseph L. Caruncho of Palmetto Bay. Caruncho is chief executive officer of Preferred Care Partners and is chair of the Florida International University Foundation.

Florida Atlantic University

■       Anthony K. Barbar of Boca Raton. Barbar is president and CEO of Barbar & Associates, LLC., a real-estate brokerage and advisory company, and is reappointed as a member of the Florida Atlantic University Board of Trustees.

■       David S. Feder of Boca Raton. Feder is managing director of the Fairmont Turnberry Isle Resort in Aventura and is reappointed as a member of the Florida Atlantic University Board of Trustees.

University of Central Florida

■       Raymond Gilley of Orlando. Gilley is president and CEO of the Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission.

■       Daniel A. Webster of Orlando. Webster, owner and president of Webster Air Conditioning & Heating Inc., is a former member of the Florida House of Representatives, where he served as speaker, and a former member of the Florida Senate.

University of West Florida

■       Stephen C. Riggs of Destin. Riggs is a partner in the CPA firm of Carr, Riggs & Ingram and is a member of the Board of Directors of the University of West Florida Foundation.

■       Bentina C. Terry of Pensacola. Terry is vice president for external affairs and corporate services at Gulf Power Co. and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Florida Chamber Foundation.

University of North Florida

■       A. Hugh Greene of Jacksonville. Greene is president and CEO of Baptist Health and is reappointed as a member of the University of North Florida Board of Trustees.

■       Oscar Munoz of Ponte Vedra Beach. Munoz is executive vice president and chief financial officer of CSX Corp.

Florida Gulf Coast University

■       Ann H. Hamilton of Fort Myers. Hamilton’s family was instrumental in the effort to bring the 10th state university, Florida Gulf Coast University, to Southwest Florida.

■       Robbie B. Roepstorff of Sanibel Island. Roepstorff is founder and president of Edison National Bank.

New College of Florida

■       William R. Johnston of Bradenton. Johnston is a retired president of the New York Stock Exchange.

■       Felice C. Schulaner of Siesta Key. Schulaner is a retired human resources executive with Coach Inc. and is chair of the Major Gifts Committee of the New College Foundation.

Related posts:

  1. Board of Governors to meet October 22 via phone to make appointments to university boards of trustees
  2. University press makes affordable textbooks a reality
  3. Give the Gift that Children Can’t Outgrow: A College Education
  4. NSU Students Competing in South Florida’s First Collegiate Real Estate Challenge
  5. NSU Offering Free Career Development Workshop – Dec. 12

Short URL:

Posted by Andrea Freygang on Oct 23 2009. Filed under Broward County, Local news, Schools, Tallahassee. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Subscribe to for free!